I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2007 (FIRST) Regular Session

Resolution No. 42 (LS) As amended.

Introduced by:

J. A. Lujan Edward J.B. Calvo <u>A. R. Unpingco</u> Frank F. Blas, Jr. James V. Espaldon Mark Forbes Judith Paulette Guthertz Frank T. Ishizaki Tina Rose Muña Barnes A. B. Palacios, Sr. v. c. pangelinan R. J. Respicio D. L.G. Shimizu Ray Tenorio J. T. Won Pat

Relative to congratulating *Rai* Charles G. Cruz *yan La Raina* Elisa T. Taimanglo on their victory and coronation at the Twenty-sixth (26th) Anniversary of the Government of Guam Association for Retired Persons (GGARP) and *Servicio Para I Manåmko* (SPIMA) Senior Citizens Month activities, and to commend all of the contestants and organizations who made this fundraiser possible.

BE IT RESOLVED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Government of Guam Association for Retired Persons
(GGARP) and *Servicio Para I Manåmko* (SPIMA) provide many crucial services
to our island's *manåmko*; and

WHEREAS, each year, the month of May is dedicated as Senior Citizens
 Month and our island community takes time out to honor our *manåmko* by
 hosting different events throughout the month; and

WHEREAS, one of the main highlights of the month is the *Rai yan La Raina Contest*, with a number of contestants vying for the titles, this year being
no exception as thirteen (13) candidates sought the two (2) titles; and

7 WHEREAS, for 2007, Tun Charles G. Cruz of Santa Rita was crowned Rai
8 yan Tan Elisa T. Taimanglo of Inarajan was crowned La Raina; and

9 WHEREAS, the proceeds of the fundraiser are applied towards helping
10 fund May's events, providing equipment to the senior citizens centers around
11 the island, and providing prizes to the contest's finalists; and

WHEREAS, our *manåmko* deserve the utmost respect and admiration for
their wisdom and their many years of service to their families and our island;
and

15 WHEREAS, the other candidates for the GGARP-SPIMA 2007 Rai yan La 16 Raina also deserve acknowledgement and recognition; they are Tan Rosa 17 Chargualaf of Merizo, Tan Luz Torres of Tamuning, Tan Teresita T. Tabonares of 18 Astumbo, Tan Marissa Serrano of Dededo, Tan Lourdes Cannon of Sinajana, Tan 19 Felomina Bautista of Yigo, Tan Martha Villagomez of Mangilao, Tun Rafael Mafnas 20 of Santa Rita, Tun David Atoigue of Yona/Talafofo and Tun Mike Lutero of Agat; 21 now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, that *I Mina'Bente Nuebi Na Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of the people of Guam, congratulate the *Rai yan La Raina* of the GGARP-SPIMA 2007 Senior Citizens Month activities, *Rai* Charles G. Cruz *yan La Raina* Elisa T. Taimanglo; and be it further 1 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker certify, and the Secretary of the 2 Legislature attest to, the adoption hereof, and that copies of the same be 3 thereafter transmitted to *Rai* Charles G. Cruz; to *La Raina* Elisa T. Taimanglo; 4 to the Government of Guam Association for Retired Persons (GGARP) and 5 *Servicio Para I Manamko* (SPIMA); and to the Honorable Felix P. Camacho, *I* 6 *Maga'lahen Guåhan*.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY I MINA'BENTE NUEBI NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN ON THE 24^{TH} DAY OF APRIL 2007.

MARK FORBES Speaker

EDWARD J.B. CALVO Senator and Acting, Secretary of the Legislature